You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Top Stories

How To Block And Unblock Someone On Snapchat

International Business Times logo International Business Times 15/05/2017 Nina Godlewski

© Provided by IBT US When it comes to using Snapchat sometimes you want to know exactly who can contact you via the app and what they can see of your Snaps. Luckily you can control who has access to your Snaps, and block people if you’d like.

First, you should know you can make your Snapchat private at any point meaning people will have to request to add you on the app. There are a number of ways people can look you up on the app using your username, phone number or name. Each of these can be adjusted in Settings. To change this, select the ghost in the upper left corner of your screen and select settings. Under “My Account” select the option you don’t want to be added by and make sure it is toggled off.

How to block someone you’re friends with on Snapchat:

Blocking someone on Snapchat is fairly easy, it just varies depending on how you’d like to block him or her. You can block someone or delete him or her as your friend if your Snapchat is private. To block someone who is your friend on the app, go to settings again and select “My Friends” from the menu. From here you’ll see a list of friends you have on the app.

Select "My Friends" on Snapchat. © Photo: Snapchat Select "My Friends" on Snapchat. Tap on the user you’d like to block and select the gear wheel in the right corner of their profile information. You can then select “edit name,” “remove friend” or “block.” Select “block” and you’ll get a popup message that asks whether you’re sure you’d like to block the person. Select “block” again and the person will be blocked. You can also just remove them as a friend if you don’t want them blocked but no longer want to be friends on the app.

How to block someone who snapchatted you:

To block someone who snapchatted you the process is a little easier. You can just swipe directly on their name when you’re on the chat screen and then tap the three horizontal lines. Select “block” here and this will prevent this person from chatting you, snapchatting you or seeing your stories.

How to block someone who added you on Snapchat:

Go to the same home screen with your username and friends, select “Added Me.” Select the name of the person you’d like to block and either hit the gear icon, or just swipe left on their name. Select “Block” and you’re all set.

Select "Added Me" on Snapchat. © Photo: Snapchat Select "Added Me" on Snapchat.

How to unblock someone on Snapchat:

Unblocking someone is just as easy as blocking someone. Go to “Settings” again, you access this from your profile. In settings scroll down to “Blocked.” It’s almost at the bottom of the page near where you log out of the app. Here you’ll find a list of everyone you have blocked, to unblock them simply press the “X” next to their name and that user will be removed from your blocked list. This means they will be able to Snap and chat you and see your stories.

Select "Blocked" under settings to see who you have blocked on Snapchat and to unblock people. © Photo: Snapchat Select "Blocked" under settings to see who you have blocked on Snapchat and to unblock people.

More from International Business Times

International Business Times
International Business Times
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon