You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Jayalalithaa 'Eternal General Secretary', Sasikala Removed, Says AIADMK: 10 Facts

NDTV logo NDTV 12/09/2017
Replay Video

(Video provided by The Times of India)

CHENNAI: The united AIADMK today scrapped the post of general secretary in the party, announcing that its former chief J Jayalalithaa will be the "eternal general secretary". The move also effectively threw out VK Sasikala, Jayalalithaa's long-time live-in aide, who had taken over the party chief's post after her death in December. The decisions, however, are subject to the approval of the Madras High Court, which gave a green signal to the meeting yesterday, dismissing a petition from Sasikala loyalists to put it on hold. Eighteen lawmakers loyal to Sasikala are skipping the meeting.

Here are the 10 updates in this big political story:

  1. The AIADMK reported 95% attendance at the meeting of 2,000 party members; 18 lawmakers loyal to Sasikala skipped the meeting, which voided her appointment as interim general secretary and so also her appointment of Mr Dinakaran as deputy general secretary last February. Mr Dinakaran's orders do not bind the party, party leaders said after the meeting.
  2. The meeting ratified the appointment of Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam as the chief of the 11-member steering committee of the party. It also formalised the merger between the factions led by Chief Minister E Palaniswami and Mr Panneerselvam, which happened last month after long and bitter negotiations.
  3. The expulsion of VK Sasikala was one of the key demands of the faction led by Jayalalithaa loyalist O Palaniswami, who had rebelled earlier this year after VK Sasikala forced him to step down from the Chief Minister's post.
  4. After former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa's death in December, VK Sasikala, her long-time live-in aide, had taken over the party. Mr Panneerselvam, who had filled in for Jayalalithaa as Chief Minister on several occasions, had taken over the top post in the government.
  5. Under the terms of the merger, Mr Pannerselvam, who had been the Chief Minister before Mr Palaniswami, was made his deputy -- the key party post for him was seen as balancing out the comedown.
  6. TTV Dhinakaran, who has been making an all-out effort to claw back to power, claims to have the support 19 lawmakers and has sided with the opposition DMK to demand that Chief Minister Palaniswami face a trust vote.
  7. DMK leader MK Stalin, who met the Governor on Sunday, says together with Mr Dhinakaran, they have 119 legislators. The halfway mark in the 234-member assembly since the death of former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa stands at 117. General secretary of southern Tamil Nadu state's ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), VK Sasikala © Arun Sankar/AFP/Getty Images General secretary of southern Tamil Nadu state's ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), VK Sasikala
  8. The united AIADMK says they have the support of nine lawmakers from the Dhinakaran camp and hence a majority figure of 124.
  9. TTV Dinakaran has said they want the Chief Minister to resign, "otherwise we will not hesitate to bring down the EPS government".
  10. Yesterday, a lawmaker in his camp filed a petition in the Madras High court asking that the General Council meet today be put on hold.

More From NDTV

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon