You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Motoring Top Stories

Supercars: Scott McLaughlin survives intra-team clash to claim Winton thriller

Sporting News logo Sporting News 25/05/2019
a car parked on the side of a road © Fox Motorsport

In one of the races of the season, Scott McLaughlin has beaten Chaz Mostert in a Winton thriller.

Action was the word of the day from start to finish, with an incident between Shell V-Power Racing teammates McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard the major talking point.

Polesitter Mostert finished just over a second behind McLaughlin at the flag, with David Reynolds the first Holden home in third.

The race began in earnest, with a first-lap tangle getting those in the Shell garage hot under the collar.

Mostert and Coulthard exchanged paint at the first corner, opening the door to James Courtney and David Reynolds.

As the field entered the turn five sweeper, Coulthard nudged McLaughlin, and both Shell Fords went off the road.

While Coulthard rejoined as soon as possible, McLaughlin cut across the circuit and rejoined at turn nine. He let Courtney and Reynolds through and rejoined in third, Mostert remonstrating over the radio.

Reynolds then sent Courtney wide at turn four, allowing the two Mustangs through. Reynolds later copped a five second penalty for the incident.

Coulthard was later hit with a 15 second penalty for his role in the first lap incident - and wasn't happy, despite saying after the race he "broke team policy" in punting McLaughlin wide at the start. He eventually finished 15th.

As Reynolds served his penalty during his pit stop, McLaughlin emerged in the effective lead ahead of a racy Mostert, who wanted to regain top spot.

It never eventuated for the Tickford star, who had to settle for second as McLaughlin claimed his ninth win of the season - as many wins as he managed in 2018.

It was a salvage job from Red Bull Holden, with Shane van Gisbergen and Jamie Whincup improving to fifth and sixth at the flag after struggling in qualifying.

Ahead of the duo was James Courtney, who grabbed his best result of the season with fourth.

Nick Percat's consistent season continued with a seventh-place finish, ahead of Andre Heimgartner, who put in a brilliant effort to rise from 20th at the start. Mark Winterbottom and Scott Pye completed the top 10.

McLaughlin extended his points lead over Coulthard to 232 points ahead of Sunday's race 14, which gets underway at 1345 AEST.



Position Driver Car Margin
1stScott McLaughlinFord
2ndChaz MostertFord+1.301
3rdDavid ReynoldsHolden+8.949
4thJames CourtneyHolden+9.530
5thShane van GisbergenHolden+17.211
6thJamie WhincupHolden+18.424
7thNick PercatHolden+21.663
8thAndre HeimgartnerNissan+31.711
9thMark WinterbottomHolden+34.381
10thScott PyeHolden+34.672
11thCameron WatersFord+35.552
12thWill DavisonFord+35.921
13thTim SladeHolden+36.128
14thRick KellyNissan+37.177
15thFabian CoulthardFord+37.576
16thLee HoldsworthFord+41.636
17thMacauley JonesHolden+42.057
18thJames GoldingHolden+52.679
19thAnton de PasqualeHolden+53.128
20thTodd HazelwoodHolden+53.560
21stJack Le BrocqHolden+55.677
22ndGarry JacobsonNissan+56.520
23rdSimona De SilvestroNissan+1:12.634
24thJack SmithHolden+1 LAP
25thRichie StanawayHolden+1 LAP



Position Driver Car Points/Margin
1stScott McLaughlinFord1496
2ndFabian CoulthardHolden-232
3rdShane van GisbergenFord-361
4thDavid ReynoldsHolden-396
5thChaz MostertFord-414

More from Sporting News

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon