You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Spieth finds rules loophole after wild tee shot at PGA Championship

theScore logo theScore 2017-08-12
© Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Another major, another adventure for Jordan Spieth.

Spieth made the turn at 1-over after shooting a 36 Friday at the PGA Championship, and then literally made a mess of the par-5 10th hole at Quail Hollow.

The 24-year-old blasted his tee shot way right of the fairway onto the cart path, leading to another rules situation for the three-time major winner.

Also see: Best of the 2017 PGA Championship (Provided by USA Today Sports)

PGA: PGA Championship - Final Round: Justin Thomas celebrates with the Wanamaker Trophy after winning the 2017 PGA Championship at Quail Hollow Club. Best of the 2017 PGA Championship

The Texan asked an official what he was permitted to remove before taking his free drop, and that's when the Open champ got the answer he was looking for. The official reminded Spieth that since the pine straw wasn't secured to the ground, and not alive or growing, he was allowed to remove the debris before dropping his ball.

Spieth would fire his second attempt through the fairway into the left pine straw, and would need two more attempts from the needles, before hitting his fourth just shy of the green.

The world No. 2 would chip up and salvage a bogey.

Also watch: Can Jordan Spieth win the Grand Slam? (Provided by Wochit News)

Replay Video
UP NEXT
1
Cancel
UP NEXT
UP NEXT

Copyright © 2017 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from theScore

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon