You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

The complete guide to the 2016 to 2017 Formula E racing season

Photos Logo Photos | Slide 1 of 22

Sunday October 9th sees the start of the third season of the first ever all-electric racing championship (October 9, 2016). One of the most interesting aspects is that all the races take place in the centre of major cities – and the first race will be in Hong Kong.

Formula E has gone from strength to strength since its launch in 2014, and is run by the FIA, the same organisation that oversees Formula One. Some of the world’s most famous car companies now participate, including Renault, Audi, and now Jaguar.

The street-circuit calendar is more robust as ever with a maximum of 14 races pencilled in, including the pending confirmation of ePrixs in London and Moscow.

Formula E Holdings CEO Alejandro Agag told MSN Autos: “We are aiming for London to fill the spare slot in April, and Moscow for June. If those two locations don’t come through, we’ll just leave those calendar dates empty as we already have enough races. However, I’m hopeful one or both will be secured.”

© Formula E
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon