You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

WhatsApp 'Delete for Everyone' feature lets you unsend embarrassing messages: Here's how to use it

The Independent logo The Independent 27/10/2017 Aatif Sulleyman

© Provided by Independent Print Limited WhatsApp’s much-anticipated “Unsend” feature is finally ready.

It’s been in development for months, but has now started rolling out to users.

The feature, which is officially called “Delete for Everyone” has also been widely referred to as “Recall” and “Revoke”.

It lets you unsend messages, making them completely disappear from a conversation. They'll be hidden from both yourself and the other people in the chat.

However, both you and your recipient need to be using the latest version of WhatsApp, and it only works for messages you’ve sent within the last seven minutes.

Once that period of time has passed, your message is there to stay.

Delete for Everyone work on all types of messages, including text, images, videos, GIFs and documents.

Related: Uh-oh - this new WhatsApp feature will ruin all of your friendships

To unsend a message, simply highlight it by tapping and holding the line of text, select Delete from the menu and hit the Delete for Everyone option.

“This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” explains WhatsApp in an FAQ.

“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients' chats. Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”

WhatsApp says you’ll be notified if Delete for Everyone hasn’t worked.

It also warns that, even if the feature does work successfully, there’s a chance the person you’ve been chatting to may have already seen the message before you decided to revoke it.

According to WABetaInfo, the rollout of Delete for Everyone is proving “very slow”, so don’t worry if you’re unable to make use of it quite yet.

Secret WhatsApp tricks you really need to know (Stuff)

25 secret WhatsApp tricks you definitely need to know: <p>There are over a billion WhatsApp users worldwide right now. The bad news? Even your mum knows what the two blue ticks mean. From disabling the ‘last seen’ feature to bookmarking important messages, these are the 25 tricks you need to know to be a WhatsApp ninja.</p> 25 secret WhatsApp tricks you really need to know

a close up of a logo © Provided by Independent Print Limited
AdChoices
AdChoices

More from The Independent

The Independent
The Independent
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon