You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Top Stories

May's deal, no deal and delaying Brexit: How your MP voted

Sky News logo Sky News 6 days ago Carmen Aguilar Garcia, data journalist, and David Mercer, news reporter

MPs vote to delay Brexit beyond March 29 (Press Association)

MPs have decided to delay Brexit until at least 30 June after three days of dramatic votes in parliament.

A government motion requesting an extension to Article 50 beyond the original deadline of 29 March was passed by 413 votes to 202 - a majority of 211.

Brexit in-depth: The last news, analysis and expert opinion

It meant success for Theresa May, who backed an extension, despite 188 Conservative MPs - including eight cabinet ministers - voting against her. Just 112 Tory MPs supported the motion.

This is how the votes on Thursday evening stacked up:

a group of people sitting at a table in front of a crowd: Theresa May has faced a week of dramatic votes on key Brexit issues © PA Theresa May has faced a week of dramatic votes on key Brexit issues Brexit Secretary Stephen Barclay, who had earlier put forward the motion in the Commons, ended up voting against it along with: Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson, Welsh Secretary Alun Cairns, International Trade Secretary Liam Fox, Transport Secretary Chris Grayling, Commons leader Andrea Leadsom, International Development Secretary Penny Mordaunt and Chief Secretary to the Treasury Liz Truss.

Meanwhile, Chief Whip Julian Smith, who is in charge of getting MPs to back the government, abstained from the vote.

Watch: Where does Brexit go from here? (Press Association)


The latest result comes after MPs voted to rule out leaving the EU without a deal and twice emphatically rejected Theresa May's withdrawal agreement with the bloc.

© Reuters The prime minister will now take her withdrawal agreement to a third "meaningful vote" in the Commons by 20 March.

If she succeeds, she will go to Brussels next Thursday to request a delay to Brexit lasting no later than until 30 June.

Watch: Farage concerned after MPs vote to delay Brexit (LBC)

Replay Video

If Mrs May's deal is rejected for a third time, she believes any extension would have to be far longer and would involve the UK taking part in European Parliament elections in May.


More from Sky News

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon