You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

+Sports Top Stories

England’s Fran Kirby fears VAR handball law offers cynical way to win penalties

The Guardian logo The Guardian 11/06/2019 Louise Taylor in Le Havre
Christie Murray with a football ball on a field: Fran Kirby (left) won a penalty for England against Scotland after her cross hit a wayward arm. © Reuters Fran Kirby (left) won a penalty for England against Scotland after her cross hit a wayward arm.

A special message from MSN:

Sport has the power to change lives. Yet in the UK only 8% of young women and girls are meeting the recommended exercise guidelines and millions are missing out on the transformational rewards of an active lifestyle. We’re committed to tackling the under-representation of women’s sport and have partnered with giving platform Benevity to raise funds for the charity Women In Sport. You can make a real difference - please donate now.

England’s Fran Kirby fears cynical players and managers will be tempted to exploit the new handball rules to win penalties.

With intent removed from the equation, referees have no latitude if a player’s arms are not in a “natural position” – at their side or behind their back – and the appeal for teams to use this zero-tolerance policy to play for a penalty looks to be a potential consequence.

“We had a VAR meeting with Fifa referees before the game,” said Kirby, whose cross hit Scotland’s Nicola Docherty on the hand to earn England a penalty scored by Nikita Parris early in their 2-1 win in Nice on Sunday. “The referees were very clear that if your arms are not in a natural position or near your body then a penalty is going to be given. But I would like to think I’m not going to drive down the line then kick the ball against an opponent’s hand or arm because I want to get a penalty.

Gallery: Players to watch at the FIFA Women's World Cup 2019 (Photo Services)

“I’d like to think that’s how others feel in that moment but possibly it could happen. I don’t feel that in that split second, you’re thinking: ‘I’m going to cross it and hit her hand.’ I’m thinking: ‘Lucy Bronze is in the box and I want it to hit her head.’ My cross was intended to get on the head of one of our players so she might score.”

Explore more issues around women in sport

Kirby did not appeal for the penalty and the referee missed the incident, only to award the spot-kick after being advised to watch a replay by the VAR official.

The Chelsea playmaker was adhering to an instruction from Phil Neville that his players do not contest refereeing decisions and treat all officials with respect.

“No one really appealed for that penalty and I just thought: ‘It’s not going to get given,’” Kirby said. “But when it went to VAR I knew it would be given, so I used the time to tell Nikita: ‘Make sure you’re ready.’ I was able to have a conversation to prepare her, knowing she’d be stepping up. A few of the girls didn’t know what was going on but I did and I got Nikita composed.”

Explore more issues around women in sport and join our fight to empower everyone to experience the lifelong benefits of exercise here. ​

Plus, Virgin Active have pledged to match donations raised meaning your money goes further to help even more women and girls get into sport.

AdChoices
AdChoices

More from The Guardian

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon