By using this service and related content, you agree to the use of cookies for analytics, personalised content and ads.
You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

O'Brien ruled out with hamstring injury as Nacewa wins 50th European cap logo 21/04/2017 Murray Kinsella

© Ryan Byrne SEAN O’BRIEN WILL miss Leinster’s Champions Cup semi-final against Clermont on Sunday in Lyon [KO 3pm Irish time, Sky Sports] after being ruled out with a hamstring injury.

Dan Leavy starts in the seven shirt, with Rhys Ruddock named on the blindside flank.

Meanwhile, Leinster captain Isa Nacewa will win his 50th European cap for the province in Sunday’s semi-final.

Head coach Leo Cullen has opted for a similar team to the one that beat Wasps in the quarter-finals, although Fergus McFadden starts on the right wing, with Adam Byrne missing out on selection and not even being involved in the match day squad despite being fit.

Sean Cronin, Josh van der Flier and Jamison Gibson-Park should provide some impact off the bench against Clermont, while Peter Dooley comes into the matchday squad in place of the suspended Cian Healy.

Meanwhile, Clermont have been boosted by the fitness of lock Sébastien Vahaamahina, hooker Benjamin Kayser and prop Davit Zirakashvili – all of whom were injury doubts for the semi-final.


15. Joey Carbery

14. Fergus McFadden

13. Garry Ringrose

12. Robbie Henshaw

11. Isa Nacewa (captain)

10. Johnny Sexton

9. Luke McGrath

1. Jack McGrath

2. Richardt Strauss

3. Tadhg Furlong

4. Devin Toner

5. Hayden Triggs

6. Rhys Ruddock

7. Dan Leavy

8. Jack Conan


16. Seán Cronin

17. Peter Dooley

18. Michael Bent

19. Ross Molony

20. Josh van der Flier

21. Jamison Gibson-Park

22. Ross Byrne

23. Zane Kirchner


15. Scott Spedding

14. David Strettle

13. Aurelien Rougerie

12. Remi Lamerat

11. Nick Abendanon

10. Camille Lopez

9. Morgan Parra

1. Raphael Chaume

2. Benjamin Kayser

3. Davit Zirakashvili

4. Arthur Iturria

5. Sébastien Vahaamahina

6. Damien Chouly (captain)

7. Peceli Yato

8. Fritz Lee


16. John Ulugia

17. Etienne Falgoux

18. Aaron Jarvis

19. Paul Jedrasiak

20. Alexandre Lapandry

21. Ludovic Radosavljevic

22. Patricio Fernandez

23. Damien Penaud

Referee: Nigel Owens [WRU].

- This article was updated at 12.44pm to add the Clermont team and clarify that Adam Byrne was available for selection.


More From

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon