You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

18 AIADMK rebel MLAs disqualified by Tamil Nadu Speaker

LiveMint logoLiveMint 18-09-2017 PTI

Chennai: Cracking the whip, Tamil Nadu Assembly Speaker P. Dhanapal on Monday disqualified 18 AIADMK MLAs owing allegiance to “removed” party leader T.T.V. Dhinakaran.

The action against the 18 MLAs, who had revolted against chief minister K. Palaniswami last month, was taken under anti-defection and disqualification rules of 1986 formed in accordance with the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution, said a statement from assembly secretary K. Bhoopathy.

The MLAs who have been disqualified with effect from Monday are Thangatamilselvan, R. Murugan, Mariappan Kennedy, K. Kathirkamu, C. Jayanthi Padmanabhan, P. Palaniappan, V. Senthil Balaji, S. Muthiah, P. Vetrivel, N.G. Parthiban, M. Kothandapani, T.A. Elumalai, M. Rengasamy, R. Thangadurai, R. Balasubramani, S.G. Subramanian, R. Sundarraj and K. Uma Maheswari.

The said MLAs, besides another, had on 22 August met Tamil Nadu governor Ch Vidyasagar and conveyed that they had lost confidence in Palaniswami, who is facing a challenge from Dhinakaran. One of the dissident MLAs, S.K.T. Jakkaiyan, later switched camps to support Palaniswami. These MLAs had since been demanding the removal of the chief minister.

The 22 August meeting had come a day after the formal merger of the two factions led by Palaniswami and then rebel leader and now deputy chief minister O. Panneerselvam. Earlier, chief government whip S. Rajendran had urged the Speaker to disqualify the said MLAs for “anti-party activities” following their revolt against the chief minister.

Though the Speaker had issued notices to all the dissident MLAs seeking their individual presence, they, however, did not turn up. A resolution adopted at a meeting chaired by Palaniswami on 28 August had said Dhinakaran was “removed” from the post of deputy general secretary. Opposition parties have since been insisting the governor direct a floor test for the Palaniswami government for proving its majority in the assembly.

In the 234-member House, AIADMK has a strength of 134 MLAs. The RK Nagar seat fell vacant last year following the death of then chief minister J. Jayalalithaa. Opposition has a strength of 98, including DMK’s 89, Congress’s 8 and IUML’s one.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon