You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

BJP candidates in Uttar Pradesh: Who had the biggest margin of victory?

LiveMint logoLiveMint 12-03-2017 PTI

Lucknow: It was saffron all the way in Uttar Pradesh assembly elections with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates earning the distinction of winning seats with both maximum and minimum margins.

While, there were five victory margins exceeding one lakh votes, there were as many as eight victory margins, wherein the winning candidate trounced the nearest rival by less than 1,000 votes.

The highest victory margin in the state polls was registered by BJP candidate from Sahibabad, Sunil Kumar Sharma who defeated Amarpal of Congress by a whopping margin of 1,50,685 votes. The lowest margin of victory was of 171 votes in Domariyaganj, where BJP’s Raghvendra Pratap Singh defeated BSP’s Saiyada Khatoon.

The other high victory margin of 1,04,643 votes were polled at Rath, where Manisha Anuragi of BJP defeated Gayadeen Anuragi of Congress. Similarly, Pankaj Singh (son of Union home minister Rajnath Singh) won from Noida, defeating Sunil Chaudhary of Samajwadi Party (SP) by 1,04,016 votes.

Strongman from Kunda, Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raj Bhaiyya registered a win by a margin of 1,03,647 votes over BJP’s Janki Sharan, and national secretary of BJP Shrikant Sharma defeated senior UP Congress leader Pradeep Mathur by 1,01,161 votes.

Among the lowest margins of win, Avtar Singh Bhadana of BJP defeated Liyakat Ali of SP by 193 votes in Meerapur Assembly constituency. Strongman from Mant, Shyam Sundar Sharma, who contested on a BSP ticket was able to retain his seat by defeating Yogesh Chaudhary of RLD by 432 votes.

Ram Feran of BJP defeated Mohd Ramzan of SP by 445 votes in Shrawasti Assembly constituency, while Ambrish Singh Pushkar of SP got the better of BSP’s Ram Bahadur by 530 votes in Mohanlalganj (SC) Assembly constituency.

In Muhammadabad-Gohna (SC) Assembly constituency, Shriram Sonkar of BJP trounced Rajendra Kumar of BSP by 538 votes. The victory margin in Rampur Maniharan constituency was of 595 votes, where BJP’s Devendra Kumar Nim defeated Ravindra Kumar Molhu of BSP. Mubarakpur saw Devendra Kumar Nim got better of BSP’s Ravindra Kumar Molhu by 688 votes.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon