You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Bypoll results live: BJP leads in Rajouri Garden in Delhi, AAP trails at 3rd position

LiveMint logoLiveMint 13-04-2017 Livemint

New Delhi: The counting of votes for 10 assembly constituencies in eight states of Delhi, Karnataka, West Bengal, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Assam and Madhya Pradesh began on Thursday.

Voting was held on Sunday in Rajouri Garden (Delhi), Litipara (Jharkhand), Nanjangud and Gundlupet (Karnataka), Dholpur (Rajasthan), Kanthi Dakshin (West Bengal), Ater and Bandhavgarh (Madhya Pradesh), Bhoranj (Himachal Pradesh) and Dhemaji (Assam).

Here are the latest updates and developments from bypoll results:

■ 11am:  Vote distribution after eight rounds of counting in Rajouri Garden: BJP has secured 19,557 votes, while the Congress with 15,972 votes is in the second spot. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is a distant third with 3,848 votes.

Delhi’s Rajouri Garden seat fell vacant after AAP legislator Jarnail Singh quit to contest against Shiromani Akali Dal chief Parkash Singh Badal in the recently held Punjab assembly elections.

The results for this seat may boost the morale of the winning party ahead of the 23 April Delhi municipal elections.

■ 10.55am: After two rounds of counting, BJP candidate Shobha Rani Kushwaha was leading in the bypoll to Dholpur assembly constituency in Rajasthan by over 4,700 votes.

“The counting began this morning and the BJP candidate is leading by 4,704 votes after two rounds,” the state election commission said.

Congress candidate Banwari Lal Sharma was trailing in the initial trend.

The by-election was necessitated following disqualification of BSP MLA B.L. Kushwaha in a murder case and the BJP surprised observers by pitting his wife Shobha Rani as its candidate against Congress veteran Banwari Lal Sharma.

Health minister Kalicharan Saraf said that the people of Dholpur voted for development and the party is going to win the seat. (PTI)

■ 10.45am: The Congress was leading in Ater in Madhya Pradesh’s Bhind district while the BJP was ahead in Bandhavgarh after the first round of counting of votes for the assembly seats, PTI reported.

After the first round, Congress’s Hemant Katere was leading in Ater constituency by a margin of 44 votes against BJP’s Arvind Singh Bhadoria, an election official said.

BJP’s Shivnaryan Singh was ahead in Bandhavgarh against his rival Savitri Singh of Congress with 5,477 votes after the fourth round.

Earlier postal votes were counted. The bypoll in Bandhavgarh seat was necessitated as MLA Gyan Singh was elected to the Lok Sabha in November last year.

In Ater, the bypoll is necessitated following the death of Congress leader Satyadev Katare The by-elections for the two seats were held on 9 April. (PTI)

■ 10.30am: In Srinagar, polling at 38 booths of Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency is also underway after the Election Commission ordered repolling following violence in the 9 April by-election, in which eight people were killed in clashes with security forces in Kashmir.

Till 10am, 1% voting was recorded, according to CNN News18.

The polling began at 7am and will end at 4pm. The counting of the votes for the constituency will take place on 15 April.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon