You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

NTPC Vallure station to cut power supply to 3 states over pending dues

LiveMint logoLiveMint 18-04-2017 PTI

New Delhi: A joint venture of state-run NTPC has decided to snap power supply to three states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Telangana from its Vallure thermal station over non-payment of dues of Rs 1,388 crore.

The NTPC Tamil Nadu Energy Company Ltd (NTECL) has issued a notice for regulation of power supply to Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Karnataka to the extent of 1,229 MW from its Vallur Thermal Power Station (1500 MW), for non-payment of long outstanding dues of Rs1,388 crore, person familiar with the development said.

“The regulation or suspension of power supply shall be implemented from 00:00 hrs of 26 April 2017, and is expected to seriously affect power supply position in these states,” the person aware of the development added.

The NTECL, a joint venture company between NTPC and Tamil Nadu Electricity Board, is engaged in generation, transmission and distribution of electricity. The joint venture was formed for setting up a 1,500 mw coal-based power station at Vallur, Ennore in Tamil Nadu utilising the existing infrastructure facility at Ennore and supply power mainly to Tamil Nadu and also to Kerala, Karnataka and Pondicherry.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon