You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

P.A. Sangma, Vincent Pala win Tura, Shillong in Meghalaya

LiveMint logoLiveMint 16-05-2014 PTI

Shillong: Former Lok Sabha speaker and National People’s Party president P.A. Sangma on Friday won from Tura Lok Sabha seat while Vincent H. Pala of Congress won from Shillong constituency.

Sangma won the Tura seat for the record ninth time by defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate Daryl William Ch Momin by a margin of around 40,000 votes.

Sangma who began his political career in 1972, did not contest the Tura Lok Sabha seat in 1989 and 2009 when he contested and won the assembly elections in the state.

He secured 2,39,239 votes out of 4,58,085 defeating his 27-year-old rival by a margin of around 40,000 votes.

Sitting Congress member of Parliament (MP) from Shillong Pala retained his seat securing over two lakh votes leading over his closest rival Independent PBM Basaiawmoit by a margin of over 40,000 votes.

In a record of sorts, 29,992 or 2.8% voters opted for NOTA in the two constituencies in the state, the highest number in the country. Meanwhile, one of the EVM containing 131 votes in Tura could not be retrieved due to a minor technical glitch, returning officer Pravin Bakshi told PTI. He said Election Commission of India was informed of this and the results would be declared in a while since the winning candidate is leading by a big margin of over 39,500 votes. PTI

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon