You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Polling on for third phase of UP assembly elections

LiveMint logoLiveMint 19-02-2017 PTI

Lucknow: Polling is underway on Sunday in 69 assembly constituencies that figure in phase-III of the staggered Uttar Pradesh elections.

Union home minister Rajnath Singh’s Lok Sabha constituency Lucknow, and Samajwadi Party (SP) strongholds Kannauj, Mainpuri and Etawah, figure in this round. Farrukhabad, Hardoi, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur, Unnao, Barabanki and Sitapur are among the 12 districts where these assembly seats are spread across.

Etawah is the native place of SP patron Mulayam Singh Yadav, while another key district is Mainpuri, from where Tej Pratap Yadav is an SP MP. From Kannauj Dimple Yadav, wife of chief minister Akhilesh Yadav is MP.

In the 2012 assembly polls, SP had won 55 of these 69 seats, while BSP, BJP and Congress secured just six, five and two, respectively. One seat went to an independent.

The fate of 826 candidates in this phase will be decided by 2.41 crore voters, including 1.10 crore women and 1,026 belonging to third gender category.

In this phase, the maximum number of 498,573 voters are in Sarojini Nagar seat of Lucknow, while the minimum of 272,294 voters are in Sisamau. While the highest number of 21 candidates are in Etawah, minimum of three candidates are in Haidergarh (Barabanki). Lucknow West and Central have 17 candidates each. There will be 25,603 polling booths in this phase.

Tight security arrangements have also been made for the polling.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon