You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Prakash Javadekar elected Rajya Sabha member from MP

LiveMint logoLiveMint 12-06-2014 PTI

Bhopal: Union minister of state for information and broadcasting Prakash Javadekar was on Thursday declared elected as the Rajya Sabha member from Madhya Pradesh.

The result was declared by the State Assembly’s principal secretary and returning officer for the Rajya Sabha bypoll, Bhagwandev Israni.

Israni handed over the certificate of election to Javadekar’s nominee. Javadekar’s nomination was the only one received by the Returning Office for the bypoll and he was elected unopposed.

The bypoll was needed because the sitting BJP member and former Union minister Faggan Singh Kulaste was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Mandla (ST) seat, following which he resigned from his RS membership.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon