You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Punjab election results: Arun Jaitley trails Amarinder Singh in Amritsar

LiveMint logoLiveMint 16-05-2014 PTI

Chandigarh: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Arun Jaitley is trailing Congress’s Amarinder Singh in Amritsar by over 1,800 votes, according to initial trends at 9am.

BJP and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) alliance is leading on five seats and Congress on four seats. Punjab has 13 Lok Sabha seats. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is leading in four out of 13 seats in Punjab in the initial rounds.

Sitting MP Sher Singh Ghubaya from Ferozepur, veteran SAD leader Ranjeet Singh Brahmpura from Khadoor Sahib and Pawan Kumar Teenu from Jalandhar (SC) are leading over their Congress rivals, an election office spokesman said.

Union minister Preneet Kaur, wife of Amarinder Singh was trailing to her AAP rival Dharamvira Gandhi. In Anandpur Sahib constituency Congress, veteran Ambika Soni was trailing to her SAD rival Prem Singh Chandumajra.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon