You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Rahul Gandhi’s A team bites the dust

LiveMint logoLiveMint 16-05-2014 Utpal Bhaskar

New Delhi: Rahul Gandhi’s A team is on the verge of losing power. The lone exception is Jyotiraditya Scindia, who was leading with a margin of 57,603 votes at 12.45 pm from Guna in Madhya Pradesh.

Milind Deora was trailing in South Mumbai and other young guns such as Ashok Tanwar (Sirsa, Haryana), Priya Dutt (Mumbai North Central), Jitin Prasad (Dhaurahra, Uttar Pradesh), R.P.N Singh (Kushinagar, Uttra Pradesh), Sachin Pilot (Ajmer, Rajasthan), Jitendra Singh (Bhanwar, Rajasthan) and Arun Yadav (Khandwa, Madhya Pradesh) were faring no better.

Trends show a landslide in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), putting it on the course of winning 277 seats out of 536 constituencies; the Congress Party was leading in 47 seats.

Rahul Gandhi was himself leading in his home borough of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh with 23,677 votes. Interestingly, the BJP is set to win at least 68 of the 80 seats Uttar Pradesh fills in the 543-member Lok Sabha.

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon