You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Telangana to get K.C. Rao as first chief minister on Monday

LiveMint logoLiveMint 01-06-2014 PTI

Hyderabad: In a historic event marking culmination of the long-drawn-out process of the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K. Chandrasekhar Rao will assume the office as first chief minister of Telangana which becomes the 29th state of the country on Monday. The swearing-in ceremony would take place at 8.15am at Raj Bhavan.

The President’s rule which is in place in united Andhra Pradesh will be revoked partially on Monday to facilitate the swearing-in of the new government under K.C. Rao. TRS secured majority in recent legislative assembly elections by winning 63 of the 119 seats in Telangana region.

Prior to K.C. Rao’s coronation, Andhra Pradesh governor E.S.L. Narasimhan would take oath as the governor of Telangana. Narasimhan, a former chief of Intelligence Bureau (IB), would function as the governor of Telangana and residuary Andhra Pradesh.

After the swearing-in ceremony, K.C. Rao would attend the official celebrations of Telangana Formation Day at Parade grounds.

Speculations are rife over the composition of the council of ministers of K.C. Rao. Names of E. Rajender, the TRS floor leader in the Andhra Pradesh assembly, T. Harish Rao, who is the nephew of K.C. Rao, TRS member of the legislative council Mahmood Ali, K.C. Rao’s son K.T. Rama Rao, senior member of legislative assembly (MLA) Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy and senior leader Nayani Narasimha Reddy are doing the rounds as probables to find a berth.

Among women MLAs of TRS, the names of Konda Surekha, Padma Devender Reddy and Kova Lakshmi are reportedly under consideration.

K.C. Rao is reportedly considering expantion of his cabinet towards the end of the month.

The TRS government is expected to announce lifting the police cases filed against Telangana supporters during the separate statehood agitation and announce benefits for the families of those who reportedly died in support of the separate statehood demand, among the major decisions to be taken soon after assuming office. The buzz is that senior IAS officer Rajiv Sharma, who is presently working in the Union home ministry, and incumbent Hyderabad police commissioner Anurag Sharma are likely to take over as the chief secretary and DGP of Telangana respectively. PTI

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon