You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

UP elections 2017 live: Campaigning to end tomorrow for phase 4 of assembly polls

LiveMint logoLiveMint 01-03-2017 Livemint

New Delhi: Campaigning will come to a close in 49 Assembly seats in seven districts of eastern UP going to polls in the sixth phase on 4 March, with Samajwadi Party (SP) patron Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency in focus.

Eyes will also be on Gorakhpur, the Lok Sabha constituency of firebrand Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Yogi Adityanath, and Mau, where jailed gangster-turned-MLA Mukhtar Ansari is in the fray. This phase, the penultimate of the 7-phase exercise, will also cover certain districts bordering Nepal.

Besides Adityanath, the prestige of Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who represents Deoria in the Lok Sabha, will also be at stake. While Mukhtar is contesting from Mau, his son Abbas is in fray from adjoining Ghosi seat in Mau district.

Here are the latest updates and developments ahead of the sixth phase of voting on 4 March in Uttar Pradesh assembly elections:

■ Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav has sought to dispel the perception that the alliance with the Congress is not working at the ground level. In an interview to CNN-News18, Akhilesh said that the alliance is working for both the parties.

■ In the 2012 assembly polls, of the 49 seats, 27 were won by the SP, nine by BSP, seven by BJP, four by Congress and two by others. There will be 17,926 polling booths in this phase.

■ The highest number of candidates are in Gorakhpur (23) and the lowest of seven candidates are in Mohammadabad Gohna seat in Mau district.

■ Around 1.72 crore voters, including 94.60 lakh male and 77.84 lakh female voters, are eligible to decide the fate of 635 candidates.

Also read | Has identity politics and polarization trumped development to claim centre stage in the ongoing election campaign in Uttar Pradesh?

■ The districts going to polls in the sixth phase are Mau, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia. Azamgarh has 10 assembly seats, of which SP had won nine in 2012, but this time Mulayam has not addressed a single meeting in his parliamentary constituency.

Also read | Modi’s adopted village in Varanasi rues no follow-up on development works

■ Prominent candidates in this phase include Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) turncoat Swami Prasad Maurya from Padrauna (Kushinagar), former BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva (Deoria), Shyam Bahadur Yadav (SP), son of former Governor Ram Naresh Yadav from Fulpur Pawai (Azamgarh), SP turncoats Ambika Chowhdury and Narai Rai, who are contesting on BSP ticket from Fefna (Ballia) and Ballia Sadar.

■ A key question: Will Mayawati-led BSP turn out to be the dark horse of the ongoing election to the Uttar Pradesh state assembly?

PTI contributed to this story

More From LiveMint

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon