You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

A lot like Sasikala: A look at politicians sent behind bars over the years

Hindustan Times logo Hindustan Times 15-02-2017

Amid the power tussle in Tamil Nadu for the chief minister’s chair, Supreme Courtconvicted VK Sasikala in a disproportionate assets and sentenced her to prison for four years on Tuesday. The apex court also barred her from holding public office or contesting elections for 10 years.

In fact, her mentor and late chief minister Jayalalithaa, was also convicted in the DA case by the trial court but acquitted by Karnataka High Court in August 2016.

However, this is not the first instance where politicians have been convicted of criminal offences. HT takes a look at a list of other politicians who have been convicted under different charges:

Guilty as charged: Politicians convicted of criminal offences

© Provided by Hindustan Times Sasikala Natarajan

(AIADMK): Former Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa’s aide was convicted on February 14 in the disproportionate assets case. The Karnataka High Court had acquitted Sasikala in August 2016.

© Provided by Hindustan Times Jagannath Mishra

(Congress): Former chief minister of Bihar, convicted in 2013 in multi million fodder scam

© Provided by Hindustan Times Lalu Prasad

(RJD): FA 68-year-old former Bihar CM and OBC stalwart was convicted in the fodder scam.

© Provided by Hindustan Times Shibu Soren

(JMM): Veteran politician from Jharkhand. First union minister to be convicted on murder charges. He was acquitted in 2007.

© Provided by Hindustan Times Sukhram

(Congress): A former union minister from Himachal Pradesh, he was convicted in a DA case.

© Provided by Hindustan Times Mohammad Shahabudddin

(RJD): The notorious former MP from Siwan has several criminal cases pending, currently serving life imprisonment for abduction and other charges.

© Provided by Hindustan Times Navjot Singh Sidhu

(Congress): Cricketer-turned-politician from Amritsar, he was convicted in a road rage case in 2006. He appealed in the SC, which suspended the verdict in 2007.

© Provided by Hindustan Times Rasheed Masood

(Congress): A politician from Saharanpur, he was held guilty on corruption charges in 2013 and became the first parliamentarian to lose his job following the SC verdict disqualifying lawmakers convicted for more than two years.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon