You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

10 legends who are not a part of the Lord's Honours Board

Sportskeeda Logo Sportskeeda | Slide 1 of 11

Without a shadow of a doubt, the Lord's Cricket Ground is the dream venue for any player to play Test cricket, thanks to the history and tradition associated with it. One such tradition is the Lord's Honours Board where the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) honours the top performers of every single Test played at the venue.

Ever since the first match at the venue between arch-rivals Australia and hosts England in 1884, whenever a batsman scores at least 100 in an innings or a bowler takes at least five wickets in an innings or a 10-wicket haul in a match, the player will have his name etched in one of the five the Lord's Honours Board (England batting, England bowling, visitors batting, visitors bowling and neutral honours board for the neutral teams playing at the venue) depending on where he qualifies.

The honours board have over 500 names across them and interestingly, it does not feature the names of a few legendary cricketers who have done everything they could in the sport. But then, whose loss is that? The players' or the board's?

Let us take a look at ten legendary cricketers (both batsmen and bowlers) whose names are not there at the historic board.

Note: Only the players who have announced their retirement from Test cricket were considered.

© Getty Images

More from SportsKeeda

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon