You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

India vs South Africa: JP Duminy to lead South Africa in T20I series

India Today logo India Today 6 days ago
© Getty Images

South Africa have named uncapped players Christiaan Jonker, Junior Dala and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen in the squad for the three-match T20I series against India.

Left-handed batsman JP Duminy has been named as the captain of the side in the absence of Faf du Plessis.

Complete coverage: India's tour of South Africa

Cricket South Africa has decided to rest senior players including Hashim Amla and most of their frontline bowlers with an eye on the upcoming Australia series. AB de Villiers, however, will be available for T20I series.

With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only 5 days after the completion of the T20 Series it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer, CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi said.

These include Hashim Amla and Aiden Markram among the batsmen as well as most of our frontline fast bowlers. AB de Villiers has missed quite a lot of cricket this summer so he will play in the T20 Series.

"We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats. But we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. The next ICC World Twenty20 is not all that far away in 2020 so it is important that we develop and examine our resources for that tournament," added Zondi.

CSA also explained that Jonker and Dala have been selected due to their good performances in domestic Ram Slam T20.

"Christiaan Jonker has been one of the most explosive finishers in domestic T20 cricket in recent seasons and his selection, together with that of Junior Dala, gives players who have performed well at franchise level the opportunity to show that they can compete at the highest level. Heinrich Klaasens recent performance speaks for itself," said Zondi.

T20 squad: JP Duminy (C), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (WK), David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

More from India Today

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon