You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Sunrisers Hyderabad struck by the curse of the Orange Cap

India Today logo India Today 18-05-2017 Rohan Sen & Abreshmina S Quadri

David Warner and Sunrisers Hyderabad have been struck by the curse of the Orange Cap. The SRK skipper finished IPL 2017 with 641 runs but he became the ninth Orange Cap holder in 10 editions to not win the IPL trophy despite a phenomenal performance.

It is the history of the tournament that seemingly put Warner and Hyderabad into the unlucky situation. Barring the IPL 2014, no other season has seen the holder of the Orange Cap lift the coveted title.


Complete coverage: IPL 2017

Last year, Virat Kohli was the Orange Cap holder with 973 runs and Warner stood second having scored 848 and when Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad battle in the IPL final, it was Warner's Hyderabad that emerged victorious.

Only once in the history of IPL has an Orange Cap holder being amongst the title winners as well. Kolkata Knight Riders fortunes in 2014 were unfazed by Robin Uthappa's Orange Cap, having scored 660 runs.

The case is not the same with the holder of the Purple Cap holder as Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals), RP Singh (Deccan Chargers) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad) guided their teams to victory with most wickets in IPL 2008, 2009 and 2016 respectively.

Most memorable moments of IPL 10

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma's wife Ritika Sajdeh looks on  during the 2017 Indian Premier League final between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiant at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad on May 21, 2017. Most memorable moments of IPL 10 - Presented by OPPO

Even the legend of Sachin Tendulkar was unable to overturn this curious case of the Orange Cap when his tournament leading score of 618 runs in 2010 were not enough to take Mumbai Indians over the line and the Mumbai outfit lost to Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Out of the three teams still in contention for the IPL trophy, only Kolkata Knight Riders' Gautam Gambhir, having scored 486 runs, is anywhere close to Warner's massive tally and it's safe to say that Warner will end up with the Orange Cap.

In the battle for the Purple Cap, Rising Pune Supergiant's Jaydev Unadkat (22 wickets) and Kolkata Knight Riders' Mitchell McClenaghan (19 wickets) are the only ones close to the current holder Bhuvneshwar Kumar's 26 wickets but it will be tough for them to overhaul Bhuvneshwar's tally.

Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders will take on each other in the Qualifier 2 on May 19 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru while Rising Pune Supergiant will face the winner of the Qualifier 2 in the final on May 21 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

Eliminator: Hyderabad knocked out

(Video provided by Wisden)

Replay Video

Click for more videos

More from India Today

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon