You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

I-League 2017: Title-decider in limbo as Aizawl FC raise objection over referees logo 30-04-2017

Aizawl FC's participation in tonight's blockbuster North-East derby against Shillong Lajong which will decide the destination of the I-League trophy, has been thrown into doubt following AIFF's controversial choice of officials.

Aizawl FC, who are three points clear of Mohun Bagan at the summit, will win the league for the first time in their history if they manage to get themselves at least a point from the game at the Jawaharlal Nehru stadium in Shillong.

© Provided by

But Khalid Jamil's side are miffed at All India Football Federation's (AIFF) decision to appoint four referees from Bengal to officiate the high-voltage game, with Mohun Bagan in the running to win the title.

Pranjal Banerjee is the designated referee for the game while Asit Kumar Sarkar and Suman Majumdar will be the assitant referees. Tanmoy Dhar is the fourth official for this all-important game.

Aizawl FC owner Robert Royte claims that a decision on whether Aizawl FC will take to the field will be made only an hour before the game and he is in deliberations with the AIFF officials, who have asked Aizawl to get on with the game and register an official complaint later.

Apparently, Aizawl had written to AIFF earlier this month, asking them to appoint only referees from nuetral states for the remaining games which involved Aizawl FC and Mohun Bagan and the Indian FA's disregard to that request is what has fanned the flames.

Even then, Aizawl are expected to take part in the game but have apparently intimated AIFF that they bear no responsibility in case any untoward incidents take place during tonight's game as a result of any controversial decisions from the referee.

More to follow...

More from

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon