You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

India outplay Zimbabwe in women's Quadrangular Series

IANS logoIANS 11-05-2017

Electing to bat after winning the toss, only three Zimbabwe batswomen managed to reach the double figures to be bowled out for a meagre 93 in 38.4 overs before India chased down the target in just 18.3 overs.

Left-arm spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad and off-spinner Deepti Sharma shared five wickets between them giving away 39 runs, to break the backbone of Zimbabwe's batting.

Pellagia Mujaji (13), Precious Marange (17) and Josephine Nkomo (17 not out) were the only batswomen to get to the double figures but failed to provide the momentum as the Indian bowlers kept a tight line.

In reply, India lost opener Veda Krishnamurthy (0) cheaply before all-rounder Harmanpreet Kaur (38 not out) and Mona Meshram (46 not out) took the team home with an unbeaten 93-run second wicket stand.

Brief Scores: Zimbabwe women 93 (Precious Marange 17, Josephine Nkomo 17 not out, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 3/25, Deepti Sharma 2/14) lose to India women 94 (Mona Meshram 46 not out, Harmanpreet Kaur 38 not out) by 9 wickets.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon