You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Indian National Football Team: Debjit Majumder included in 35-man national camp for AFC Asian Cup qualifiers logo 13-05-2017

Indian national team coach Stephen Constantine has drafted an initial list of 35 players for a conditioning camp in Mumbai before The Blue Tigers take to the field for two crucial AFC Asian Cup qualifier games.

There are several interesting names in the list with the most notable inclusion being that of Mohun Bagan custodian Debjit Majumder. Stephen Constantine had earlier made clear his displeasure with Debjit after the 29-year-old snubbed a call-up to the national team in March 2016 for a 2018 World Cup qualifier against Turkmenistan.

In fact, after this season's first Kolkata Derby back in February, Constantine had commented, "I called him (Debjit Majumder) up in our squad and he failed to show up. End of story. He is not interested even though I called him into the India game."

BFC's decision highlights Indian team's future

But in the wake of this decision, it seems the 54-year-old is ready to give Debjit another chance.

Another interesting feature about the list is the inclusion of three players from I-League champions Aizawl FC in left-back Lalruatthara, goalkeeper Albino Gomes and midfielder Laldanmawia Ralte. There were no Aizawl players in Constantine's previous India squad which played Cambodia and Myanmar in March.

© Provided by

Youngsters Subhasish Bose (Mohun Bagan), Isaac Vanlalsawma, Chinglensana Singh, Vishal Kaith (all Shillong Lajong), Nishu Kumar (Bengaluru FC) and Jerry Lalrinzuala (DSK Shivajians) have also been called up to the camp which begins on 20th May 2017 at the Cooperage stadium in Mumbai.

ISL to recognition from AFC

India will play a friendly at home against Lebanon on June 7th before hosting Kyrgyz Republic in a crucial Group A AFC Asian Cup Qualifier on June 13th.

35-man shortlist:

GK: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Debjit Majumder, Albino Gomes, Vishal Kaith, Amrinder Singh

DEF: Arnab Mondal, Chinglensana Singh, Lalruatthara, Fulganco Cardozo, Narayan Das, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Anas Edathodika, Sandesh Jhingan, Pritam Kotal, Subhasish Bose, Nishu Kumar

MID: Seitysasen Singh, Laldanmawia Ralte, Jackichand Singh, Isaac Vanlalsawma, Bikash Jairu, Halicharan Narzary, Dhanpal Ganesh, Rowllin Borges, Mohammad Rafique, Milan Singh, Eugeneson Lyngdoh, Udanta Singh

FWD: Robin Singh, Cavin Lobo, Jeje Lalpekhlua, CK Vineeth, Sunil Chhetri, Daniel Lalhlimpuia

More from

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon