You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Mourinho equals Sir Alex Ferguson's League Cup record logo 26-02-2017

Jose Mourinho has now won the League Cup four times, a joint-record among managers along with Brian Clough and former Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

Man Utd let off with disallowed goal

United played out a thrilling Wembley final with Southampton on Sunday, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic scoring twice to secure the trophy for the Red Devils.

Manolo Gabbiadini had an early goal ruled out for offside but went on to score twice, levelling the game after Jesse Lingard put United 2-0 up in the first half.

© Provided by

Ibrahimovic struck three minutes from time, though, securing United's fifth League Cup trophy, and Mourinho's fourth.

A one-man show - Where would Man Utd be without Zlatan?

The Portuguese led Chelsea to the trophy in 2005, 2007 and 2015, with Sunday's victory his first major trophy as United boss.

Mourinho also became the first manager to win a major trophy in his first season at Old Trafford.

More from

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon