You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Nayeemuddin urges AIFF to name I-League goalkeeper award after Shibaji

IANS logoIANS 03-03-2017

On the sidelines of Banerjee's condolence meeting held at the club tent here, Nayeemuddin said, "I have proposed the AIFF to name the best goalkeeper award after Shibaji Banerjee."

Banerjee, who breathed his last in February, was a Bagan stalwart who represented the club for 11 years winning 34 trophies and playing against Brazilian legend Pele when New York Cosmos toured India in 1977. He is best known for his acrobatic saves during penalty kicks.

Besides Nayeemuddin, Chuni Goswami, Satyajit Chatterjee, Compton Dutta, Sisir Ghosh, Manas Bhatacharya, Gautam Sarkar, Surajit Sengupta, Pradip Chowdhury, Bidesh Bose were present to pay their last respects.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon