You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Ricciardo wins, Nico extends lead

Sky Sports logo Sky Sports 02-10-2016
Getty © Provided by BSkyB Getty

Daniel Ricciardo has won the Malaysia GP after an engine failure denied Lewis Hamilton victory and inflicted a devastating blow on his title hopes. 

Nico Rosberg, who finished in third behind Max Verstappen, now leads the world championship by 23 points from his unfortunate Mercedes team-mate with just five races remaining this year.

Hamilton, a class above all weekend in Sepang, had driven a perfect race to build up a lead in excess of 20 seconds before his engine suddenly blew.

To add insult to injury, the Englishman may face an additional engine-related penalty at next week's Japanese GP having previously exceed his 2016 allocation.

"I just can't believe that there's eight Mercedes cars and only my engines are the ones that have gone this way," Hamilton told Sky F1. 

"Something just doesn't feel right. There's been 43 engines from Mercedes and only mine have gone - it's odd."

An engine failure ended Lewis Hamilton's race in Malaysia when he had a comfortable lead © Getty Images An engine failure ended Lewis Hamilton's race in Malaysia when he had a comfortable lead

Critically, Ricciardo, running on far older tyres, had just managed to defy Verstappen before Hamilton's blow-out, with the two Red Bulls wheel-to-wheel for almost an entire lap.

Both cars, along with Rosberg, then pitted while the Virtual Safety Car was deployed for Hamilton's breakdown and cruised to the line in formation to complete Red Bull's first one-two finish in three years.

Rosberg himself experienced a topsy-turvy race. After being hit by Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel in the first corner, the championship leader then fought back to fifth, barged his way past Kimi Raikkonen and quickly built up a substantial lead over the Finn to wipe out a 10-second penalty applied by the stewards for causing a collision. 

Malaysia GP Race Result1. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull, 1hr37min122. Max Verstappen, Red Bull, + 2.4433. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, + 25.5164. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, + 28.7855. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, +61.5826. Sergio Perez, Force India, + 63.7947. Fernando Alonso, McLaren, + 65.2058. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, + 74.0629. Jenson Button, McLaren, + 81.81610. Jolyon Palmer, Renault, + 95.46611. Carlos Sainz, Toro Rosso, + 98.87812. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, + 1 lap13. Felipe Massa, Williams, + 1 lap14. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, + 1 lap15. Pascal Wehrlein, Manor, + 1 lap16. Esteban Ocon, Manor, + 1 lapDid not finish: Felipe Nasr, Lewis Hamilton, Esteban Gutierrez, Kevin Magnussen, Romain Grosjean, Sebastian Vettel.

More From Sky Sports

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon