You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Shah Rukh Khan, GMR unveiled as owners of T20 Global League teams

Wisden India logo Wisden India 19-06-2017 Wisden India staff

Shah Rukh Khan was among two Indian Premier League team owners to be unveiled as bosses of teams for the upcoming South African T20 Global League, Cricket South Africa made public on Monday (June 19).

Apart from Shah Rukh, the co-owner of Kolkata Knight Riders, GMR Sports, the group that owns Delhi Daredevils, have bought a franchise, while two South African business houses, two owners of Pakistan Super League teams, and one group each from Hong Kong and Dubai are going to helm the teams.

© Provided by Wisden

At a ceremony in London, the eight marquee players of the teams were also linked with teams: Hashim Amla (Durban), Quinton de Kock (Benoni), AB de Villiers (Pretoria), Faf du Plessis (Stellenbosch), JP Duminy (Cape Town), David Miller (Bloemfontein), Kagiso Rabada (Johannesburg) and Imran Tahir (Port Elizabeth).

Shah Rukh has bought the Cape Town franchise to go with the Kolkata brand and Trinbago Knight Riders, the two other franchises he owns. The GMR group has bought the Johannesburg franchise.

More to follow …

More from Wisden India

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon