You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Van Wolfswinkel fires Vitesse to first major trophy logo 30-04-2017

Vitesse won the first major trophy in the 125-year history of the club as a 2-0 victory over AZ clinched glory in the KNVB-Beker final.

© Provided by

Ricky van Wolfswinkel scored the goals for his side in the last 10 minutes at De Kuip to secure the triumph.

Back at Vitesse for a second spell, the former Sporting CP and Norwich City striker has scored 21 goals in all competitions this season, but none as important as Sunday's brace.

Van Wolfswinkel opened the scoring with a header from Milot Rashica's cross and then made sure of the victory by turning Ron Vlaar and firing home.

Piet van Bochove in 1927 was the last player to score in the cup final for Vitesse, with Van Wolfswinkel writing his name into the club's history books in style.

Winnaars van de #KNVBBeker 2016/2017: @MijnVitesse! Van harte gefeliciteerd. #KNVBBeker #azvit

— KNVB (@KNVB) April 30, 2017

More from

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon