You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Virat Kohli called for a review even after third umpire said "NOT OUT". And India won

India Today logo India Today 13-02-2017
Replay Video

Virat Kohli does everything on the criket field. Almost everything unless you expect him to start rolling his arms over and pick five-wicket hauls.

Kohli has been in outstanding form this season. In nine Test matches at home, he has smashed three double hundreds and a breathtaking 167. He now has the most runs in a season in home Tests in the history of the game.

Full scorecard: India vs Bangladesh, one-off Test

The 28-year-old has also overseen series wins over New Zealand, England before trumping Bangladesh in the one-off Test in Hyderabad, where he hammered an aggressive 204, made some smart decisions on the field, showed his growing expertise with the DRS and then smashed a quickfire 38 in the second dig.

On the final day, India needed seven wickets to seal victory over the Tigers, who had shown plenty of resilience on a flat surface. R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Ishant Sharma struck some crucial blows right through the day to leave Bangladesh nine down at the stroke of tea.

Photos: 'Unique' world records held by Indian cricketers

Special world records of Indian cricketers

The second last session was therefore extended by 30 minutes. Ashwin, bowling to Taskin Ahmed, went up in appeal, the on-field umpire Marais Erasmus, referred to the TV umpire for caught dismissal and indicated through the soft signal that the batsman was out. But here's how it all unfolded in what turned out to be the final ball of the innings.

100.3: WICKET! R. ASHWIN TO T. AHMED

Very full on leg stump, Taskin looks to flick but is struck on the pads. Big appeal for lbw and the close-in fielder has taken it as well. Erasmus thinks there is an inside edge and so denies the appeal. However, as the fielder has taken it, he has to go upstairs to confirm if it was a bump ball. The soft signal is OUT. Replays show that there was no bat involved. So, it is a not out regarding the catch. Kohli then nonchalantly opts for the review, which was obvious. Impact is line and that's hitting leg stump.



More from India Today

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon