You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Women’s World Cup winners to take home $660,000

Wisden India logo Wisden India 18-06-2017 Wisden India staff
© Provided by Wisden

The winners of the Women’s World Cup 2017, which starts across four venues in England on June 24, will be richer by US$ 660,000, the International Cricket Council said on Sunday (June 18). The runners-up will take home US$ 330,000.

In line with ICC’s strategy of enhancing the stature of women’s cricket around the world, it had been announced in May that the total prize money for the tournament would be US$ 2 million, ten times the amount at stake in the tenth edition in 2013.

Like the winners and runners-up, the losing semifinalists too will benefit from a larger pool as they will be get US$165,000 each. The four teams exiting at the group stage will get US$30,000 each while each win in the group stage will earn a side US$20,000.

“The ICC Women’s World Cup is the pinnacle of the women’s game and as such the players should be rewarded appropriately. Two million dollars is the first step towards greater parity and recognition,” Dave Richardson, the ICC chief executive, had said in May. “The prize fund for the 2013 edition was just $200,000, and this announcement shows a greater level of commitment than ever before.”

All the teams have arrived in England, and the warm-up matches are scheduled from June 19. A total of ten matches will be broadcast live on television with Decision Review System being introduced into the women’s game for the first time, and the remaining 21 matches live-streamed.

More from Wisden India

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon