You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Muslim countries which have banned 'triple talaq'

Slide 1 of 12

In India, triple talaq has been a bone of contention. Triple talaq still exists in India under the Muslim Personal Law (Shariat) Application Act (1937). Talaq (repudiation) finds its roots in Arabic, where the word means “undoing of or release of a knot”. Unlike India however, there are several Muslim majority nations where triple talaq has been banned. Let's take a look at these countries.

(Text by Indian Express)

© Getty Images
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon