You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Akarana crowned NZ rugby league champions

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 1/10/2016

Akarana Falcons have unleashed a dominant second-half performance to beat Counties Manukau 32-12 in the national rugby league premiership final in Auckland.

The Auckland club fought back from 8-6 down at halftime, scoring 16 unanswered points through tries to Polima Siaki, Daniel Palavi and Eddie Purcell to set up victory.

Counties Manuka struck back with a try but Akarana secured their first title since 2013 when Siliga Kepaoa and Arden McCarthy crossed in the closing stages.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon