You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

All Blacks sweep World Rugby awards

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 14/11/2016

The All Blacks have dominated World Rugby's end-of-year awards, winning the player, coach and team of the year prizes.

First five-eighth Beauden Barrett took the individual player of the year award, continuing New Zealand's dominance in becoming the fifth All Black in a row to win the award.

Fellow first-five Dan Carter took the award last year and in 2012, while skipper Kieran Read won in 2013 and Brodie Retallick the following year.

Barrett won over All Blacks hooker Dane Coles, Ireland No.8 Jamie Heaslip and England's Billy Vunipola, Maro Itoje and Owen Farrell.

"It's a by-product of a couple of great teams I have been a part of this year, the Hurricanes and the All Blacks," Barrett said.

"I have to thank the coaches and my teammates around me, because without them I wouldn't be here."

It's the seventh consecutive year the All Blacks have snared the team of the year prize, and the fourth that Steve Hansen has won coach of the year.

They also won it in 2005, 2006 and 2008.

Hansen's feat in guiding the All Blacks to a record 18 successive wins secured him the coach of the year award ahead of England coach Eddie Jones, and Ben Ryan, who coached Fiji to rugby sevens gold at the Rio Olympics.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon