You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Barbarouses features in A-League voting

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 1/05/2017
Wellington Phoenix striker Kosta Barbarouses © Getty Images Wellington Phoenix striker Kosta Barbarouses

Wellington Phoenix winger Kosta Barbarouses has ranked fifth in voting for the A-League's player of the year award.

All Whites interntional winger Barbarouses tallied 22 points in the race to win the Johnny Warren Medal, which was taken out by Sydney FC playmaker Milos Ninkovic.

Serbian Ninkovic racked up 44 points under the voting system in which each of the 135 regular-season matches are assessed by a panel made up of former professional players, coaching experts, match officials and members of the media.

Barbarouses also finished behind Perth's Diego Castro (37 points), Western Sydney's Nico Martinez (29) and Melbourne Victory's James Troisi (27).

Sydney FC's record-breaking campaign resulted in their domination of the awards on Monday night. They will face Melbourne Victory in this weekend's A-League final.

Former Victory star Barbarouses, who has two years to run on his Phoenix contract, started the season slowly but finished with six goals and six assists from 25 appearances.

The 27-year-old was a surprise omission from the most recent All Whites squad which beat Fiji in two World Cup qualifying matches in March.


Johnny Warren Medal (player of the year): Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC)

Young footballer of the year: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar)

Coach of the year: Graham Arnold (Sydney FC)

Golden Boot: Besart Berisha (Melbourne Victory, 19 goals), Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar, 19 goals)

Goal of the year: Tim Cahill (Melbourne City, round 2)

Goalkeeper of the year: Danny Vukovic (Sydney FC)

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon