You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Black Ferns face Canada in World Cup draw

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 9/11/2016

Four-time champions New Zealand have drawn Canada, Wales and one other team in their pool for next year's women's World Cup in Ireland and Northern Ireland.

Runners-up in 2014 Canada are expected to provide the sternest Test for the Black Ferns, who were denied a fifth-successive crown in France two years ago when stunned by Ireland in pool play. England went on to claim a second title.

The draw in Belfast on Wednesday pitted England in the same pool as the United States while Ireland and France are favoured in their group.

The fourth team in New Zealand's pool will be the runners-up from the Asia Oceania qualifying zone. Fiji, Hong Kong and Japan meet in a tournament in December.

The eighth edition of the tournament next August features all 12 teams playing group games in Dublin before play-off games in Belfast.

It is being staged three years after the previous tournament, with World Rugby breaking its four-yearly cycle so it no longer clashes with other major events.


A: Canada, New Zealand, Wales, Asia/Oceania runners-up.

B: England, United States, Italy, European qualifier.

C: Ireland, France, Australia, Asia/Oceania winners.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon