You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Bolt and Simone Biles win Laureus awards

dpa logodpa 14/02/2017

Usain Bolt has won the Laureus sports award for a record fourth time after winning a third straight Olympic sprint treble last year.

Jamaican supersprinter Usain Bolt and American gymnastics star Simone Biles have won the Laureus sports awards, with Bolt receiving the honour a record fourth time.

Bolt got a third straight Olympic sprint treble last year in Rio de Janeiro - although he was recently stripped of the 2008 relay gold because teammate Nesta Carter failed a doping test.

Biles meanwhile won four golds and one bronze in Rio as she became the first gymnast to win the award since its inauguration in 2000.

Among other awards, now retired Formula One champion Nico Rosberg of Germany won the breakthrough of the year award; World Series winners Chicago Cubs were named team of the year; and American swimmer Michael Phelps had the best comeback with five Rio golds for an Olympic record 23 overall.

The winners, announced at a gala in Monte Carlo, were decided by a jury made up of members of the Laureus Academy made up of sporting legends.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon