You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Champions Trophy - a look at the teams

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 31/05/2017 Ian McCullough

Black Caps skipper Kane Williamson and teammate Luke Ronchi celebrate after dismissing Bangladesh's Mosaddek Hossain. © Marty Melville/AFP/Getty Images Black Caps skipper Kane Williamson and teammate Luke Ronchi celebrate after dismissing Bangladesh's Mosaddek Hossain. CHAMPIONS TROPHY AT A GLANCE:


* Ranking: 1

* Best result: Winners 1998

* 2013 tournament finish: Semi-finals

Squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel.

Boast the top-ranked ODI batsman and bowler in AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir but lost a recent one-day series to England - their first since 2015.


* World ranking: 2

* Best result: Winners 2006, 2009

* 2013 tournament finish: Group stage

Squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Steve Smith's youthful side are blessed with a powerful top order bolstered by the big-hitting Chris Lynn and a high-class pace attack. Need to hit the ground running against New Zealand who beat them 2-0 in February's series.

Man to watch: Chris Lynn


* World ranking: 3

* Best result: Winners 2002, 2013

* 2013 tournament finish: Winners

Hugely experienced side with eight of the squad that won the 2013 event in action again and led by a passionate skipper in Virat Kohli. The return of Yuraj Singh bolsters a powerful batting line-up.

Squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Dinesh Karthik.

Man to watch: Virat Kohli


* World ranking: 4

* Best result: Winners 2000

2013 tournament: Group stage

Squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Luke Ronchi, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, James Neesham, Corey Anderson, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Jeetan Patel, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan, Trent Boult.

Always a threat in the one-day game and beat Australia comfortably in February. In Trent Boult they have a world-class quick but are perhaps too reliant on Kane Williamson and Martin Guptill with the bat.

Man to watch: Trent Boult


* World ranking: 5

* Best result: Finalists 2004, 2013

* 2013 tournament performance: 2nd.

Squad: Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Unrecognisable from the side that was humiliated in the 2015 Cricket World Cup. Under former NSW coach Trevor Bayliss England are a vibrant, dynamic side with genuine world-class players in Joe Root, Jos Buttler, and Ben Stokes and a balanced bowling attack..

Man to watch: Ben Stokes


* World ranking: 6

* Best result: Group stage 2002, 2004

* 2013 tournament performance: Did not qualify

Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Sunzamul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Shafiul Islam.

Bangladesh aren't tipped to be there at the pointy end but have the ability to spoil the party of the three other teams in Group A - Australia, England, and New Zealand - especially if all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is on song.

Man to watch: Shakib Al Hasan


* ODI ranking: 7

* Best result: Champions 2002

* 2013 tournament performance: semi-finals

Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt), Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Pradeep, Upul Tharanga, Asela Gunaratne, Nuwan Kulasekera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera, Lasith Malinga, Lakshan Sandakan, Kusal Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Seekkuge Prasanna

South African great Alan Donald has been roped in as bowling coach for the Champions Trophy, and has high expectations against subcontinent rivals Pakistan and India in Group B. The return of Lasith Malinga to the one-day arena is a huge boost.

Man to watch: Lasith Malinga


* World ranking: 8

* Best result: semi-finals 2000, 2004, 2009.

* 2013 tournament performance: Group stage

Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf.

The three-time semi-finalists need to change the conservative approach of their batsmen to have any chance of advancing from the group stage. Captain Azhar Ali stepped down and was dropped after Australia won 4-1 this year, but has been recalled for the Champions Trophy.

Man to watch: Mohammad Amir

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon