You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Dalziel re-elected as Christchurch mayor

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 8/10/2016

Lianne Dalziel will serve a second term as mayor of Christchurch.

With 98 per cent of votes counted she had 73,001 votes and John Minto received 12,533 votes. Tubby Hansen received 1362 votes and there were 79 blank votes.

Ms Dalziel is a former Labour MP and cabinet minster who represented eastern Christchurch for more than two decades.

She first assumed office as Christchurch mayor on October 24, 2013 when the city was rebuilding from the devastating 2011 earthquakes, a process that is a continuing challenge.

The Press said the mayoral race in Christchurch only had two serious candidates who were "centre left versus further left" and it was a dreary race.

Mayor-elect Dalziel thanked voters for expressing their confidence in her leadership.

"The first term was tough but we now have a strong platform to build on.

"My first action will be to re-establish a strong team around the council table so we can focus on the regeneration opportunities that lie ahead and ensure that all of our communities can participate in the decisions to be made,'' Ms Dalziel said.

Joining Mayor-elect Dalziel at the council table will be five new councillors and 11 returning councillors.

Community Board chairs Sara Templeton and Mike Davidson have won council seats for the first time. Mrs Templeton won the council seat in the Heathcote ward with 3910 votes, while Mr Davidson won the council seat in the Papanui Ward with 3221 votes.

Anne Galloway was elected in the Halswell ward. Progress results put her 100 votes ahead of the next highest polling candidate.

In the Central Ward the founder of Rebuild Christchurch, Deon Swiggs, earned a council seat by securing 1327 of the votes cast.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon