You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Dixon miffed at second place

NZN 17/04/2016

A bemused Scott Dixon has had to settle for second in the IndyCar Long Beach Grand Prix, beaten by Frenchman Simon Pagenaud who wasn't penalised for improperly rejoining the race from the pit lane.

In the fastest and closest race in Long Beach history, the defending series champion crossed the finish line on the tail of Pagenaud, just 0.3 seconds behind after 80 laps and 253km.

Pagenaud's victory means he moved 14 points clear of Dixon at the top of the standings after three races.

However, the victory was contentious as Pagenaud crossed a yellow line on leaving the pits, but wasn't penalised.

Dixon sat behind the Team Penske driver, conserving fuel, until he learned there would be no penalty, but just a warning, and he was then forced to try and make his move.

"I think he ran all four (wheels) across. The rules clearly state you have to have two wheels on the other side of the line or you get a penalty," Dixon said immediately after.

"There were meant to be no warnings left. I don't know what that's all about."

However, he also said what hurt him the most was his team had not told him a pit sequence was over, so he had been driving to conserve fuel, which had slowed him down.

The next race is the Indy Grand Prix of Alabama. Practice begins on Friday.

Earlier this month Dixon beat Pagenaud in the Phoenix Grand Prix but the Frenchman now has one win and two second places to Dixon's first, second and ninth placings.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon