You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Fekitoa suspended, Cane cleared

Radio New Zealand Radio New Zealand 22/11/2016 Angelo Risso
Ireland's Robbie Henshaw is tackled by New Zealand's Sam Cane during the Autumn International match at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin. © PA Ireland's Robbie Henshaw is tackled by New Zealand's Sam Cane during the Autumn International match at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin.

All Blacks flanker Sam Cane has escaped punishment for a dangerous tackle on Ireland midfielder Robbie Henshaw in Sunday morning's 21-9 victory in Dublin.

Cane is free to play in the All Blacks final test of their end of year tour against France in Paris this weekend.

Openside Cane collided with Henshaw during the Dublin match, forcing the Irish player from the field with concussion.

Henshaw was subsequently ruled out of Ireland's final Test of the end of year internationals against the Wallabies in Dublin on Sunday.

Ireland's Simon Zebo is tackled by New Zealand's Malakai Fekitoa during the Autumn International match at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin. © PA Ireland's Simon Zebo is tackled by New Zealand's Malakai Fekitoa during the Autumn International match at the Aviva Stadium, Dublin.

The referee awarded only a penalty to Ireland at the time, but Cane was cited after the test along with All Blacks centre Malakai Fekitoa, who was yellow carded for a high tackle in the second half.

Cane appeared before an independent Disciplinary Committee in London this morning for the dangerous tackle, and the All Blacks flanker contested the charge claiming he hadn't committed an act of foul play.

The Disciplinary Committee, chaired by Antony Davies (England), alongside Derek Bevan (Wales) and John Doubleday (England), viewed video footage of the incident and listened to evidence and representations from and on behalf of the player.

Malakai Fekitoa of New Zealand during the international rugby match against Ireland at Aviva Stadium on November 19, 2016 in Dublin, Ireland. © Phil Walter/Getty Images Malakai Fekitoa of New Zealand during the international rugby match against Ireland at Aviva Stadium on November 19, 2016 in Dublin, Ireland.

They concluded that Cane's actions had been accidental and that he had not therefore committed an act of foul play.

The citing complaint was not upheld and Cane is therefore free to resume playing immediately. However he's unavailable for the All Blacks' final test of their end of year tour due to an ankle injury.

Earlier this morning Fekitoa was given a one-match ban for his high tackle on high tackle on Ireland wing Simon Zebo during Sunday's win over the Irish.

The Judicial Committee found that Fekitoa's actions would have warranted a red card, though they reduced the initial two-week ban to one due to his previous clean record. -RNZ



More From Radio New Zealand

Radio New Zealand
Radio New Zealand
image beaconimage beaconimage beacon