You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Foran poised to make impact for Warriors

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 21/03/2017

New signing Kieran Foran will begin his NRL season from an extended Warriors bench in their fourth-round NRL match against St George Illawarra in Sydney on Sunday.

The ex-Kiwis five-eighth was cleared by the NRL to play for the Warriors against the Bulldogs in Dunedin last week, but his return was delayed by a long-term shoulder injury.

Foran, 26, left the Parramatta Eels midway through last season to address personal issues, before linking up with the Warriors in September.

He has not taken to the field since leading the Eels out and suffering a torn bicep tendon in their 20-18 win over Newcastle on May 30.

Warriors skipper Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, who missed last week's 24-12 loss to the Bulldogs after a head knock the week before, returns to the run-on team.

Tuimoala Lolohea moves back to the right wing where he started the season, while Ken Maumalo switches back to the left wing to replace veteran Manu Vatuvei, forced off with knee trouble last week.

Former Warriors skipper Simon Mannering will claim the club record for most NRL appearances on Sunday, playing his 262nd game..

Now in his 13th NRL campaign, 30-year-old Mannering edges the previous mark held by Stacey Jones.

Mannering made his debut alongside Jones against Brisbane at Mount Smart Stadium on June 26, 2005, and has gone on to forge a reputation as one the game's most consistent performers.

Foran's ex-Manly team-mate Ligi Sao is also in the extended squad after a strong return from a long injury lay-off, while centre Solomone Kata will make his 49th NRL appearance this week.

The Warriors have one win and two losses in their first three matches while the Dragons have two victories and one defeat.

St George Illawarra have a 19-5 win-loss advantage since the two clubs first met in 1999.

Warriors: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Tuimoala Lolohea, David Fusitu'a, Solomone Kata, Ken Maumalo, Mafoa'aeata Hingano, Shaun Johnson, Albert Vete, Issac Luke, Jacob Lillyman, Bodene Thompson, Ryan Hoffman, Simon Mannering. Interchange: Erin Clark, Charlie Gubb, Sam Lisone, Bunty Afoa, James Gavet Ligi Sao, Blake Ayshford, Kieran Foran.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon