You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

French driver wins IndyCar Indianapolis

Associated Press Associated Press 14/05/2016

Simon Pagenaud pulled away to win the IndyCar Grand Prix of Indianapolis for his third straight victory of the season.

The French driver inherited the lead when Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves pitted with 20 laps to go, and beat the Brazilian by 4.4748 seconds on the 2.439-mile, 14-turn course.

Pagenaud is the first IndyCar driver to win three in a row since Scott Dixon in 2013.

The Frenchman started from the pole and led 57 of the 82 laps.

He kept the lead despite making his final pit stop one lap after Castroneves.

Pagenaud extended his points lead over Dixon to 76. Dixon, the defending series champion, finished seventh for Target Chip Ganassi.

Canadian James Hinchcliffe, of Schmidt-Peterson Motorsports, was third while Australia's Will Power finished 10th.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon