You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Halberg Awards nominees unveiled

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 14/12/2016
Mahe Drysdale © AP Photo/Luca Bruno Mahe Drysdale

Competition appears fiercest in the men's sportsman category following the unveiling of nominees for the Halberg Awards.

Wide-ranging success in 2016 is underlined by the number of contenders, with 78 nominations received across the five major categories, hailing from 31 sports.

The largest group is sportsman of the year, where several standout contenders feature.

The Halberg voting academy must weigh up the merits of Olympic rowing gold medallist Mahe Drysdale against World Rugby player of the year Beauden Barrett, heavyweight boxing WBO champion Joseph Parker, NBA multi-millionaire Steven Adams and world rally trailblazer Hayden Paddon among other household names.

Olympic sprint canoe champion Lisa Carrington is prominent in a 12-strong women's group which includes minor medallists in Rio - Eliza McCartney, Luuka Jones, Lydia Ko, Natalie Rooney, Portia Woodman and Valerie Adams.

The 2015 supreme Halberg Award-winning All Blacks are among 17 in contention for team honours, along with two Rio champion pairings - rowers Hamish Bond and Eric Murray and sailors Peter Burling and Blair Tuke.

The success of Kiwis at the Rio Paralympics is reflected in nine nominees for disabled sportsperson of the year. Multiple gold medallists Sophie Pascoe (swimming) and Liam Malone (athletics) are leading contenders.

A number of Olympic and Paralympic coaches are in the hunt for coach of the year.


Beauden Barrett has been vocal about his desire to win a Test starting berth, having made 28 of his 36 appearances off the bench, often in a fullback role. © Getty Images Beauden Barrett has been vocal about his desire to win a Test starting berth, having made 28 of his 36 appearances off the bench, often in a fullback role. Sportsman of the year: 

Beauden Barrett (Rugby), Brayden Graham (Mixed Martial Arts), Byron Chivers (Mixed Martial Arts), Chris Wood (Football), Danny Lee (Golf), George Bennett (Cycling), Hayden Paddon (Motorsport), John Kennard (Motorsport), Joseph Parker (Boxing), Jossi Wells (Snow Sports), Mahe Drysdale (Rowing), Max Beattie (Surf Life Saving), Nick Willis (Athletics), Peter Michael (Skating), Sam Gaze (Cycling), Sam Meech (Yachting), Shane Van Gisbergen (Motorsport), Shannon McIlroy (Bowls), Steven Adams (Basketball), Tom Walsh (Athletics), William Trubridge (Diving), Winston Reid (Football).

Luuka Jones © Getty Images Luuka Jones Sportswoman of the year: 

Abby Erceg (Football), Amy Satterthwaite (Cricket), Christy Prior (Snow Sports), Eliza McCartney (Athletics), Laura Quilter (Surf Life Saving), Lisa Carrington (Canoeing), Luuka Jones (Canoeing), Lydia Ko (Golf), Natalie Rooney (Shooting), Portia Woodman (Rugby), Valerie Adams (Athletics), Zoe McBride (Rowing).

Liam Malone (centre) © Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images Liam Malone (centre) Disabled sportsperson of the year: 

Amy Jane MacDonald (Para-Waka Ama), Anna Grimaldi (Para-Athletics), Cameron Leslie (Para-Swimming), Corey Peters (Para-Skiing), Liam Malone (Para-Athletics), Mary Fisher (Para-Swimming), Nikita Howarth (Para-Swimming), Rick Dodson, Andrew May, Chris Sharp (Para-Sailing), Sophie Pascoe (Para-Swimming).

Molly Meech and Alexandra Maloney © Bryn Lennon/Getty Images Molly Meech and Alexandra Maloney Team of the year:

Women's 49erFX - Alex Maloney and Molly Meech (Yachting), All Blacks (Rugby), Black Ferns (Rugby), Blackjacks Men's Fours - Mike Nagy, Mike Kernaghan, Blake Signal and Ali Forsyth (Bowls), Haden Paddon and John Kennard (Motorsport), Men's 49er - Peter Burling and Blair Tuke (Yachting), Men's Blackjacks (Bowls),Men's Pair - Hamish Bond and Eric Murray (Rowing), New Zealand Black Fins (Surf Life Saving), New Zealand Golf Croquet Team - Chris Clarke, Jenny Clarke, Duncan Dixon, Phillip Drew and Mike Crashley (Croquet), Paddle Ferns (Canoeing), Rowing Women's Eight (Rowing), Rowing Women's Pair - Rebecca Scown and Genevieve Behrent (Rowing), Squash New Zealand World Doubles Team (Squash), Team Sprint - Eddie Dawkins, Ethan Mitchell and Sam Webster (Cycling), The Hurricanes (Rugby), Women's 470 - Jo Aleh and Polly Powrie (Yachting).

Chris Boyd © Getty Images Chris Boyd Coach of the year:

Anthony Peden (Cycling), Brent Ward (Para-Athletics), Chris Boyd (Rugby), Dale Stevenson (Athletics), Gordon Walker (Canoeing), Hamish Willcox (Yachting), James Mortimer (Para-Athletics), Jason Pocock (Surf Life Saving), Jeremy McColl (Athletics), Jim Maloney (Yachting), Kiwi Campbell (Waka Ama), Mark Howard (Yachting), Nathan Handley (Yachting), Raylene Bates (Para-Athletics), Roly Crichton (Para-Swimming), Sean Thompson (Snow Sports), Simon Mayne (Para-Swimming), Steve Hansen (Rugby).

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon