You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Hurricanes recall their wayward five

NZ NewswireNZ Newswire 25/05/2016

The Hurricanes have recalled their five disciplined players in naming a full-strength squad to host the Highlanders in a repeat of last year's Super Rugby final.

Wingers Cory Jane and Julian Savea and loose fowards Victor Vito and Ardie Savea will start Friday's game while prop Chris Eves takes his customary place on the reserve bench.

All were omitted from the 29-14 win over Queensland Reds after breaking a curfew in Durban the week before leading up to their loss to the Sharks.

In another boost, captain Dane Coles and lock Michael Fatialofa have completed protocol concussions having suffered head knocks against the Reds, while centre Matt Proctor will also start after shaking off a knee injury.

Coach Chris Boyd says the influx of available players provided him with a good problem.

"We've got a lot of guys who are fit and in form at the moment, which is great, but it makes things tough for the coaches when it comes to naming the team," he said.

Jason Woodward drops to the bench while fellow-wing Wes Goosen is omitted completely despite a sound debut.

Callum Gibbins makes way for flanker Ardie Savea while Vito's return pushes Blade Thomson to lock and Vaea Fifita to the reserves.

The Highlanders won the teams' first encounter in Dunedin this season 17-16 and come into the game with three successive wins over strong opponents under their belts.

Boyd says his players know what is at stake, with both teams still well in contention to top the New Zealand conference and overall standings.

"It adds a real edge and nobody is under any illusion that this is an important match for both teams."

Hurricanes: James Marshall, Cory Jane, Matt Proctor, Vince Aso, Julian Savea, Beauden Barrett, TJ Perenara, Victor Vito, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Michael Fatialofa, Blade Thomson, Jeff Toomaga-Allen, Dane Coles (capt), Reggie Goodes. Reserves: Motu Matu'u, Chris Eves, Lonu Uhila, Vaea Fifita, Callum Gibbins, Jamison Gibson Park, Ngani Laumape, Jason Woodward.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon