You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

I was out: Smith

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 4/12/2016 Steve Zemek

It was the knock that sent officials scurrying for the record books and delivered the under-pressure Australian side the tonic they needed after a torrent of criticism.

But Steve Smith has revealed it never should have been.

The Australian skipper blasted a record-breaking 164 to guide his side to a 68-run win in the opening one-dayer against New Zealand but he concedes he should have been out on 14.

In a confession that's sure to leave his Black Caps counterpart Kane Williamson kicking himself, Smith said he should have been dismissed by Trent Boult when he was hit on the pads.

"I was glad they didn't review it. I think it was out," Smith said.

"Of course I'm glad. Not much was going through my head. I let it go pretty quickly.

"I thought (Boult) set me up pretty well. It wasn't swinging any and I was moving across even further and then he got one to come back quite late. Fortunately, it got given not out."

Smith was hit in line with off stump and New Zealand appealed confidently, but when he was given not out, the Kiwis declined to review the decision.

Replays showed he would have been given out had they referred it to the third umpire, with Smith making the most of his second life.

His knock was the highest-ever ODI score at the SCG and proved the game changer as the Australians broke a five-game losing streak and eased the pressure after a disastrous tour of South Africa.

Smith revealed one of the Black Caps fielders had told his teammates he'd had bat on ball before the Australian skipper bluffed them into not using up their review.

"I think someone said I hit it. Someone from point, I reckon," Smith said.

"I think they may have just ran with that. I think I even looked at my bat at one point to throw them."

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon