You are using an older browser version. Please use a supported version for the best MSN experience.

Mt Albert by-election writ issued

NZ Newswire logoNZ Newswire 25/01/2017 Sean Martin

The race is officially on for Mount Albert.

Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy issued the writ on Wednesday for the February 25 by-election.

Candidates have until February 1 to submit their nominations but five have already revealed they'll contest the seat.

List MP Jacinda Ardern was officially selected for Labour at the party's campaign launch on Sunday after she was the only person nominated.

She'll go head to head against Green list MP Julie Anne Genter who was nominated by her party earlier this month.

The National Party will not stand a candidate in the by-election.

Joe Carolan, who ran for the Internet MANA Party in 2014, is this time running for Socialist Aotearoa.

Vin Tomar will represent the New Zealand People's Party.

Dale Arthur, whose great uncle was long-serving Labour MP Norman King, announced on Wednesday that he would stand as an independent.

The by-election was called after the resignation of Labour MP David Shearer in December.

He left parliament to join the United Nations, leading their peacekeeping mission in South Sudan.

image beaconimage beaconimage beacon